Parks, Recreation & Cultural Resources Advisory Commission


For any questions, comments, or additions regarding the meeting, contact the Director of Parks, Recreation, and Cultural Resources by calling (919) 249-3511 no later than 4 p.m. the Wednesday preceding the regular meeting date.


  • Last Wednesday each month, 6:00 p.m.
  • Town Hall Council Chamber, 2nd Floor (73 Hunter Street)


The Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to department staff and the Town Council, providing recommendations on parks and recreation issues in the Apex community. The commission also reviews and makes recommendations on public recreation requirements for proposed residential developments and provides input on long range plans related to parks and recreation.


The Apex Parks, Recreation, and Cultural Resources Advisory Commission is composed of 9 members appointed by the Mayor and Town Council. Initial terms are 3 years, staggered beginning with the June meeting each year.

Current members are:

  • Darryl Lanier, Chair (Jun 2022 - Jun 2025)  
  • Matthew Carusona, Vice-Chair (Jun 2022 - Jun 2025) 
  • Mary Lee Blatchford (Jun 2023 - Jun 2026)  
  • Tom Colwell (Jun 2023 - Jun 2026)  
  • Jeremy Croom (Jun 2023 - Jun 2026)  
  • Lisa Esterrich (Jun 2022 - Jun 2024)   
  • Michael Kanters (Jun 2022 - Jun 2024)  
  • Renee Pfiefer (Jun 2022 - Jun 2024)
  • Jeff Roach (Jun 2022 - Jun 2025)

How to Serve

If you’re interested in serving on this Advisory Board, please complete the interest form. You will be contacted when a vacancy occurs.